Isle of Man News - POSTED Fri 09-05-2014

Team Isle of Man squad announced for Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

by MT

Team Isle of Man squad announced for Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

Team Isle of Man will be represented in nine sports at the 20th Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this summer. The squad of 46 competitors is the biggest ever to represent the Island at the Games and will compete in athletics, badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, lawn bowls, shooting, swimming and triathlon. The majority of the squad will travel to the Games on July 18, by ferry to Heysham and then by road to the host city. The opening ceremony takes place at Celtic Park on July 23.

Juliet Holt is President of the Isle of Man Commonwealth Games Association (IOMCGA) which is the registered charity responsible for the publicity, fundraising, travel, and support for Team Isle of Man’s participation at the Commonwealth Games. She said:

“This is the biggest and strongest squad ever to represent the Island at the Commonwealth Games. The Isle of Man can be extremely proud that a nation of only 84,000 can produce such a wealth of talented sportsmen and sportswomen who have all trained incredibly hard to reach the high standards required to compete at Glasgow 2014. Sending such a strong squad is only possible due to the dedication of competitors and all of the coaches, managers and administrators who support the work of IOMCGA. We are also extremely grateful for support from Isle of Man Sport, the 10 businesses who have backed our Team Isle of Man Champions fundraising initiative – Auxesia, Creechurch Capital, Heron & Brearley, IOMA Fund and Investment Management Limited, Isle of Man Creamery, Karsons Pharmacy, Manx Telecom, MM&C, Skanco and SMP Partners – and the Manx public who have generously supported fundraising events and donated funds at Our Glasgow 2014 team is the result of this combined effort from all sectors of the community and we have every confidence that the squad will do the Island proud this summer.”

The team was announced at a special launch event held at Mylchreests Group motor dealership in Douglas on Thursday [May 8] evening – the company is providing the official vehicles for the Isle of Man sections of The Queen’s Baton Relay. In a speech at the launch event, Speaking on behalf of IOMCGA, Mrs Holt also expressed thanks to Mylchreests and Ernst & Young (the Official Professional Advisor to the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games) - and the Sefton Hotel for providing catering at the launch event. His Excellency Lieutenant Governor Mr Adam Wood was the guest of honour at the launch evening and wished the Island’s national team good luck at the Games.

The Queen’s Baton Relay, which as an integral part of the build-up to every Commonwealth Games, arrives on the Island on May 16 from the Guernsey and Jersey legs of the relay and will be accompanied by Clyde, and a BBC TV film crew. It will leave on Monday May 19 and continue its journey with the next stop being Northern Ireland. The relay will culminate at the opening ceremony of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

IOMCGA is a registered charity (No.644) and relies upon fundraising events and donations to cover the costs of sending teams to the Commonwealth Games. The next big fundraising event for the Glasgow 2014 squad is a gala evening featuring the Bond quartet at the Villa Marina on May 16. The evening will be a mix of entertainment, a raffle, and a chance to see some of the competitors selected to represent the Island at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. Guests will also be able to see The Queen’s Baton and Clyde, the Glasgow 2014 mascot. For tickets to the event go to

For all the latest news about Team Isle of Man – and to donate funds to support our Glasgow 2014 team – go to

The full list of Team Isle of Man competitors and team officials going to the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games is as follows:

Steve Partington - Team Manager
Harriet Pryke - 400m
Keith Gerrard - 10,000m
Reagan Dee - High Jump
Olivia Curran - Pole Vault

Frank Anderson - Team Manager
Ben Li    
Cristen Callow
Kim Clague
John Cain - Team Manager
Krystian Borucki - 91kg (heavyweight)

Graeme Hatcher - Team Manager
Gary Hinds - Track Coach
Mike Doyle - Road Coach
Alex Jaffrey - Mechanic
Mark Cavendish - Road Race
Peter Kennaugh - Road Race, Time-Trial and Track
Mark Christian - Road Race, Time-Trial and Track
Jonny Bellis - Track
Joe Kelly - Road Race, Time-Trial and Track
Jake Kelly - Track
Andrew Roche - Road Race and Time-Trial
Elliot Baxter - Mountain Bike
Anna Christian - Road Race
Laura Wasley - Road Race
Haresh Measuria - Team Manager
Gennady Tsyganov - Coach
Valery Molchano - Coach
Alex Hedges
Anand Patel          
Mukunda Measuria
Harshul Measuria 
Kaitlin Kneen
Tara Donnelly       
Grace Harrison
Nicole Burns         

Clive McGreal - Team Manager
Bernice McGreal   
Phil Ward - Team Manager - Clays
Phil Glover - Team Manager - Rifles
Kevin Gill - Clays Coach
Ian Shirra-Gibb - Rifles Coach
Competitors - Clays:
Tim Kneale - Double Trap
Jake Keeling - Double Trap
Neil Parsons - Olympic Trap
David Walton - Olympic Trap
David Clague - Olympic Skeet
James Bradley - Olympic Skeet
Competitors - Rifles:
Harry Creevy - Prone
Ben Kelly                - Prone
Rachel Glover - Prone, Air Rifle and 3P
Gemma Kermode - Air Rifle and 3P
Lara Ward - Prone
Leonie Cooil - Team Manager
Lee Holland - Coach
Grant Halsall - Backstroke, Butterfly, Individual Medley and Freestyle and Men’s Relay
Tom Bielich - Butterly, IM and Freestyle and Men’s Relay
Guy Davies - Breastroke and Individual Medley and Men’s Relay
Alex Bregazzi - Backstroke, Butterfly and Freestyle and Mens Relay
Charlotte Atkinson - Backstroke, Butterfly, Individual Medley and Freestyle
Laura Kinley - Breastroke and Freestyle
Niamh Robinson - Backstroke, Breastroke, Butterfly and Individual Medley
Graham Stigant - Team Manager
Andrew Nash        

Admin Support    
Juliet Holt               - President CGA IOM
John Knight - Vice-President CGA IOM
Tonia Lushington - Chef de Mission
Trevor Taubman - General Team Manager
Chris Till                - Assistant General Team Manager
Frank Vaughan - Team Doctor
Danni Bell - Office Manager
Ruth Cooil - Physio
Wendy Shallcross - Physio

Photo - Dursley Stott (1958 Commonwealth games competitor and Honorary President of the Isle of Man Commonwealth Association) with Juliet Holt (President of the Isle of Man Commonwealth Games Association).

Bringing You Isle of Man News and Sports Items

Send your press releases to:
Got a news story:
For MTTV news: contact Paul Moulton on 310000 or email