Isle of Man News - POSTED Mon 21-08-2017

Lap record holder Lee Johnston returns for Sure Junior Classic TT Race

by LC

Lap record holder Lee Johnston returns for Sure Junior Classic TT Race

The Sure Junior Classic TT Race is set to be one of the most closely contested classes at this year’s Isle of Man Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts with almost 90 entries on a grid packed with some of the world’s leading road racers.

2014 race winner and class lap record holder Lee Johnston returns with the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta and will set off at his traditional number thirteen slot. Johnston is set to do battle with team-mate and recent Ulster GP winner Dean Harrison who has the number nine plate again.

The honour of setting off first down Glencrutchery Road goes to previous podium finisher Dan Cooper on the CSC Racing Honda while the 2015 victor and the 2016 runner-up Michael Rutter will again be reunited with the Ripley Land Racing Honda at number four.

The Davies Motorsport trio of Alan Oversby (5), William Dunlop (6) and Dominic Herbertson (15) will all fancy their chances of success as will Cameron Donald (8) whose sole outing at this year’s event sees him line up on the McIntosh Racing Norton.

The 350cc single cylinder Honda is the chosen bike for many with Jamie Coward (2) riding for Ted Woof, Olie Linsdell (Atherstone Accident Repair) at number 10, Chris McGahan (12) and Peter Boast (14) on the Ken Rutter Racing machine all definite contenders. Phil McGurk (Chris Hughes) and Alex Sinclair (CSC Racing) are also Honda-mounted at number 16 and 17 respectively.

A strong threat will undoubtedly come from Chris Swallow (7) on the Ripley Land Racing AJS, Danny Webb (18) on the Dunnell Racing Norton and Ivan Lintin (11) riding the Brian Richards Racing Seeley 7R whilst setting off lower down the order at 27 is local hero Conor Cummins on the Spectrum Windows/Feltons Honda.

Other riders set to feature include veterans David Madsen-Mygdal (Gimbert Racing Honda) and Nick Jefferies (Goathland Garage Norton), Mark Herbertson (Pip Campbell Motorcycles Honda), Steve Ferguson (Greenall Racing Honda) and Dave Moffitt (LGC Racing Honda).

A number of 250cc machines are also entered with Dave Edwards, Jeff Ward, Chris Moore and Geoff Bates amongst them.

See the full Race Schedule for more details.

Classic TT Grandstand tickets are available now starting from as little at £5 with race day tickets priced at £20. VIP experiences, tickets for the RST Classic TT Legends Dinner on Sunday 27th and the Classic TT Prize giving on Monday 28th August are all available to buy now at or our sales hotline on (00 44) (0) 1624 640011.

The first qualifying session for the Classic TT takes place this Saturday 19th August with live timing available via for all qualifying sessions and races.

Saturday’s schedule is as follows:

Roads Close at 1700 hrs until no later than 2100 hrs
1720 - 1745hrs: MGP & Classic TT Newcomers (speed controlled)
1730 - 1825hrs           MGP Senior /Junior /CTT 250/Superbike (No MGP/CTT Newcomers)
1830 - 1925hrs           Classic TT 350/500 / MGP Lightweight (No MGP/CTT Newcomers)
1930 - 2000hrs           All MGP Newcomers & CTT Newcomers (untimed)

The Sure Junior Classic TT race is scheduled to get underway at 10.15am on Monday 28th August.

Manx Radio will be live 7.30am on Friday 25th August with full coverage of the Festival of Motorcycling 2017 including Classic TT and Manx Grand Prix live commentary service. The station will also have practice reports each evening from Monday. You can listen online at, via the MR Smartphone app and via AM1368, 87.9FM in Douglas and 100.6FM in the north on Island.

Bringing You Isle of Man News and Sports Items

Send your press releases to:
Got a news story:
For MTTV news: contact Paul Moulton on 310000 or email